Interesting Times

So, it’s been a little while (a long while, if I’m being honest) since I updated and the world feels as if it’s undergone a drastic change called “COVID-19”. It’s a worrying thing (and sometimes sadly amusing), here in Australia, to see the supermarkets being picked bare of the essentials and people fighting over a pack of toilet paper.

I live in a more rural town and, even here, the panic buying has left it impossible to buy pasta, toilet paper, cleaning supplies, etc. Even though we have yet to see a single confirmed case of the virus.

But the dichotomy of people’s reactions is rather interesting.

Some people I’ve met with are brushing off the virus and are unwilling to change. Others on the news have, previously, broken quarantine (I dare say that’s less, now that a $20,000 fine has been attached) and I’m afraid that there’s at least one person in my life that, if he had to quarantine, would probably still come to “visit” my family.

I’m not worried for myself. My medical issues are painful – and have been much more painful lately, thus leading to the ever-extending time between updates – but they don’t leave me in a high risk category. I worry about my mother. She’s in the highest risk group and has, in the past, had bronchial pneumonia (since then, she has quit smoking, so I’m hoping that mitigates some of the risk). The Australian government is doing a wonderful job of monitoring and managing things, but it doesn’t stop my family and I from worrying about my mother… Especially as she seems disinclined to worry about herself!

Dragon Story

  • Current Level: 193
  • Current Food Tally: 560,885
  • Currently Hatching: Coral (Stone x Neo Fire), Wizard (Night Elf x Infinity), Weasel (Fire x Air)
  • Currently Breeding: Fire x Air, Lotus x Kitsune

Previously Hatched

Lotus x Virtue: Comfy x2, Athletic, Seafrost, Stark Might, Lyra,  Enamored, Charisma

Lotus x Kitsune: Love, Winter, Iridescent, Lunar Ram, Disco, Neo Bubble

Dawntree x Hammerhead: Island, Moonseeker, Serpent

Stone x Neo Fire: Topiary, Landworm, Wild, Love, Landworm, Laserlight, Luck, Topiary, Love, Tree Frog, Elements

Viridian (Neo Blue x Neo Forest), Moonseeker (Neo Blue x Neo Forest), 2x Envious (Forest x Light), 2x Whitebloom (Forest x Light), Reclamation (Lotus x Dawntree)

Atlantis (Lotus x Dawntree), Jungle Warrior, Mist (Infinity x Mist), Ferret (Night Elf x Infinity), Love (Crusader x Light), Virtue (Crusader x Light), Wizard (Night Elf x Infinity)

The Viewing Room

So, with such a long break in updating, you’d think I’d have a quite a few movies to write about… But I only actually have four. However, my best friend (who has been such a lifeline for me) did decide to weigh-in on one of them.

  • Ghost Stories [2018] – 1 Star
  • Megamind [2010] – 4.5 Stars
  • Monsters at Large [2018] – 3 Stars
  • Men in Black: International [2019]
  • My Rating: 4.5 Stars
  • Bec’s Rating: 3.5 Stars

This one is sort of funny to explain, but I can see why we came to such a difference in ratings (particularly as this is more her genre than mine). I heard many negative reviews before seeing it and, because of that, had very low expectations while Bec, on the other end of the spectrum, hadn’t listened to the reviews and had high expectations as she loved the previous films!

Haven (2010-2015 TV Series)

We might be a few years late, but we’ve finally finished watching this TV Series and thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately, finishing it also means that it won’t take long to run out of things to watch if we get quarantined! 😉

The Gaming Lounge

Rise of the Tomb Raider

We’ve finished Rise of the Tomb Raider!

Though dad was frustrated with the “clean up” process, we finished the game (which broke me more than once!) with a 100% completion rate!

… Though I have to say, I don’t think this is one we’ll ever decide to revisit.

Darksiders III

I wanted to start this by saying that dad and I both enjoyed the previous Darksiders games (though our favourite was Darksiders II) and watched anxiously when they were selling off the series a few years ago. We were so excited to hear that Darksiders III would be released and that, now, Darksiders IV is also available!

Even saying that, I must admit that I was the one trying to delay starting this game. I kept hoping that my shoulders would improve and I’d actually get to play half of the game like I used to be able to… Now, I’ve accepted that I might never be able to do that, so I should take my turns when I can and just enjoy it when I do.

We started playing on February 21st and seem to be carving our way through the game (which seems like it’s going to be much shorter than Darksiders II). We’ve even started to go back to previous levels in the hopes of finding whatever we didn’t or couldn’t collect earlier.

With all four “hollows” collected and Fury upgraded to level 30, we only have two Deadly Sins left to capture… And I’m honestly hoping that there’s going to be much more to the game than just capturing them and allowing Fury’s personality to develop.

Thus far, every Darksiders game has added to the underlying story. They’ve all provided different elements of the “truth” and it’s been rather interesting to see how things play out. (Though it’s been rather difficult to remember the details of each tale!)

Still, even if I don’t get to play as much as I want, we’re going to continue forward and I’m happy to help as spotter and health-watcher. We’ve one last section to visit before continuing on with the hunt for the truth of who attacked fury, Wrath (and, after that, Pride).

Unfortunately, this game doesn’t show you a map or offer a way to find collectibles you’ve missed. It’s the one thing that has actually disappointed me with the game…

2 thoughts on “Interesting Times

  1. Yes your mom is high risk and quitting smoking immediately helps the lungs to heal or so my pulmonologist tells me lol. J and I are on “self quarantine” since I am high risk. Believe it or not, he’s not considered high risk. There are four cases of the virus in my county. Schools, government and many businesses closed. Many are not working and people are panicking thus the hoarding with TP lol. You’re right though…..half of the people are ignoring everything while the other half are in panic mode. No in between! I’m glad that your country isn’t experiencing this as you’ve had enough environmental issues down there. Don’t feel bad about not blogging either. Your health is the most important thing kiddo. I know where to find you. Keeping you and your family in our prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks – I’ve had you and J in my thoughts and am glad you’re both self-quarantining. I think it’s the last thing either of our families need…
      So far, Australia’s doing well with it but you can see it spreading every day. With any luck, when it comes this far south, my mother and best friend (both of whom are considered at risk, albeit to varying levels) manage to avoid it! Even better would be if they find the new treatments are a perfect success and can immediately be used to control this outbreak.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment